Arc Architects

Dysart's medieval Tollbooth and 19th century Town House were comprehensively repaired in 2009, following centuries of neglect. The project reinstated original finishes and conserved historic features, including graffiti of sailing ships carved into ancient cell doors.

The building’s fascinating history includes surviving a gunpowder explosion that blew off the top of the building in 1746. Major cracks were still evident from this and these were repaired with 6 meter stainless steel rods drilled through the building in hidden locations.

A key part of the project was the involvement of Fife Council Building Services as the main contractor. Through the project they were trained in the conservation skills needed to maintain the many historic buildings owned by Fife Council, in partnership with the Scottish Lime Centre Trust.

The Conservation Report can be found here.